Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Google+ Photo Albums Now Show Who They Have Been Shared With

 

One of the great things about Google+ is it’s transparency. Privacy is so important on a social network, and knowledge about who is seeing what, is one of the most important forms of privacy. It allows users to feel comfortable posting, knowing exactly who will see any given post. Google’s Software Engineer, Jon Moon, just announced a nifty little feature. As you likely know, users can already see, in their stream, who each post is shared with. This allows users to comment on a particular post knowing exactly who will be viewing these comments.
The same has not been true for photo albums, however, until today. Users now will see who has access to view photo’s in other’s albums. This mean they can comment on them, knowing exactly who will see those comments. Moon made the following post, moments ago, explaining the new feature:
  You may have noticed that when someone posts something in your stream, you can see who it was shared with. If you look at the top of the post you’ll see either Public, Extended circles, or Limited, and clicking on that shows you more details. (More info here: goo.gl/Y0PSM)
Today we are introducing the same feature for photo albums, so that you can comment on photos knowing who will be able to see your brilliant, witty, clever remarks. Hooray!
This is just one of the many ways we are working to improve your photos experience on Google+. Thanks and we look forward to your feedback!